About Me

My Story

As a child, I loved reading books with my mom.  She and I would sit and alternate reading.   As I grew up, books took me to places we couldn’t afford.   In college, I decided to become a teacher.  With a passion for helping others, I knew that I wanted to help children.   In 2008, I received a Bachelor’s of Science in Multidisciplinary Studies with a minor in Special Education.

My first 2 years of teaching was in an inner-city elementary school.  I taught in a self-contained fourth grade class.  I then moved schools and settled into working with students with learning disabilities in reading and writing.  I worked in this capacity for 3 years before being asked to change grade levels.  I switched to a self-contained first grade class.  In 2017, I moved districts and now work as a third grade reading and writing teacher.

I started attending classes for my master’s degree in 2015.   I will be graduating with a Master’s in Reading in December 2018.  I am so thankful to be able to continue my education in helping students succeed in literacy.

My Reading Philosophy

Reading can take you to places that are out of this world.  Reading can take a child who lives in a small, one bedroom apartment to Narnia or Hogwarts.

I feel that every child, no matter where they are from, should have a chance to read.  Literacy shouldn’t have boundaries.

I feel that every child, regardless of their ability, can learn to read.  When caregivers are given the right tools, children are able to be successful.

 

Miranda Freitag

Founder 

Miranda Freitag is a mom, a wife, a student and a teacher.  She currently works in her seventh year of teaching at an elementary school outside of Houston.  While teaching full time in an ELA (English Language Arts) classroom, she is studying at UT Tyler in order to receive her Master’s in Reading.  She plans to graduate in the fall of 2018.  Although teaching is one of her passions, so is her family.   Keith, her husband of almost 4 years and her are the parents to an adorable two year old and two dogs.

My 2 year old